University of Newcastle, Australia

Newcastle University developed as a civic university in response to the regional demands of the industrial economy. Since the early days of the formation of a College of Medicine in 1834, through the foundation of a College of Physical Science in 1871, and its successor Armstrong College, to the eventual formality of receiving its own University Act in 1963, it has maintained strong and productive links with civil society.

For a long time the North East of England was a powerhouse of the industrial economy, and the various shapes and structures of what eventually became Newcastle University provided the intellectual underpinning for the economic and industrial activities of the region. The first Chairs at the Colleges were not only in fundamental disciplines such as Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Arts and Literature, but also in the regionally important applied sciences such as Geology, Mining, Naval Architecture, Engineering and Agriculture.